February 2018 reading list

February 2018 Reading List

I can’t believe February is already here! How did you do with the January 2018 reading list? Here are the books I plan to read in February 2018. Come check out my reading list and read along with me.

In January, I was able to satisfy two of the book challenges on the Modern Mrs. Darcy’s reading challenge. I may or may not have a book that will fit the bill in February. Most of the books I will be reading in February will be non-fiction geared towards learning more as a business owner for Tubarks Consulting. Although I do have one historical piece in the mix.

Here is what is on my reading list for February 2018:

They Ask You Answer: A Revolutionary Approach to Inbound Sales, Content Marketing, and Today’s Digital Consumer by Marcus Sheridan

I heard Marcus Sheridan speak on a Social Media Examiner podcast episode. He made so much sense, I just had to read his book.

Via Amazon:

They Ask You Answer is a straightforward guide to fixing your current marketing strategy. Regardless of your budget, you are almost certainly overspending on television, radio, and print ads, yet neglecting the number-one resource you have at your disposal: the Internet. Content marketing is no longer about keyword-stuffing and link-building; in fact, using those tactics today gets your page shuffled to the bottom of the heap. Quality content is the key to success, and you already have the ingredients in-house. This book shows you how to structure an effective content strategy using the same proven principles that have revolutionized marketing for all types of businesses, across industries.

Author Marcus Sheridan’s pool company struggled after the housing collapse; today, they’re one of the largest pool installers in the U.S., turning away millions of dollars in business they simply cannot accommodate every year. How did he manage it? He answered questions. This book shows you how Marcus’s strategy can work for your business, and how to use your keyboard to bring customers through the door.

  • Boost your company’s web presence with methods that work
  • Build a level of trust that generates customer evangelism
  • Leverage your in-house resources to produce winning content
  • Utilize tactics that work, regardless of industry or sector

When people have questions, they ask a search engine. If you have answers, the right content strategy will get them to the top of the search results and seen by millions of eyes every day. Drop the marketing-speak, stop “selling,” and start answering. Be seen as an authority, not just another advertisement. They Ask You Answer describes a fresh approach to marketing and the beginning of big things for your business.

Brothers in Battle, Best of Friends: Two WWII Paratroopers from the Original Band of Brothers Tell Their Story by William Guarnere and Edward Heffron

As I mentioned in the January post, I watch the series Band of Brothers during my winter break. This is another look at the men of Easy Company.

Via Amazon:

William “Wild Bill” Guarnere and Edward “Babe” Heffron were among the first paratroopers of the U.S. Army—members of an elite unit of the 101st Airborne Division called Easy Company. The crack unit was called upon for every high-risk operation of the war, including D-Day, Operation Market Garden in Holland, the Battle of the Bulge, and the capture of Hitler’s Eagle’s Nest in Berchtesgaden. Both men fought side by side-until Guarnere lost his leg in the Battle of the Bulge and was sent home. Heffron went on to liberate concentration camps and take Hitler’s Eagle’s Nest hideout. United by their experience, they reconnected at the war’s end and have been best friends ever since. Their story is a tribute to the lasting bond forged between comrades in arms—and to all those who fought for freedom.

How to Write Copy That Sells: The Step-By-Step System for More Sales, to More Customers, More Often by Ray Edwards

One of the areas of my business that I feel I am extremely weak is copywriting. I am hoping this book will provide me with tips to improve my marketing.

Via Amazon:

Writing copy that sells without seeming “salesy” can be tough, but is an essential business skill. How To Write Copy That Sells is a step-by-step guide to writing fast, easy-to-read, effective copy. It’s for everyone who needs to write copy that brings in cash – including copywriters, freelancers, and entrepreneurs.

Inside, you’ll find copywriting techniques for email marketing, web sites, social media, sales pages, ads, and direct mail.

The Big Leap: Conquer Your Hidden Fear and Take Life to the Next Level by Gay Hendricks

This book seems to be on everyone’s reading list. All the podcasts I listen to have mentioned this book. It was time to find out what the buzz was about.

Via Amazon:

With over 100,000 copies sold, New York Times bestselling author Gay Hendricks demonstrates how to go beyond your internal limits, release outdated fears and learn a whole new set of powerful skills and habits to liberate your authentic greatness. Fans of Wayne Dyer, Eckhart Tolle, Marianne Williamson, and Gabrielle Bernstein will discover the way to break down the walls to a better life.

That’s it for this month — I want to hear what good books YOU’VE read lately! Please share in the comments below.

I encourage you to check out January’s list in case you missed it. There was lots of good reading.


In the spirit of full disclosure, this is an affiliate link, which means that if you purchase this item through my link I will earn a commission. You will not pay more when buying a product through my link. I only recommend products & systems that I use and love myself, so I know you’ll be in good hands.
Plus, when you order through my link, it helps me to continue to offer you lots of free stuff. 🙂 Thank you, in advance for your support!

Leave a Reply