Professional Development

January 2012 Professional Development Opportunities

Here are a number of training opportunities for January and February:

eXtension .org

See details for each session at http://learn.extension.org.

Lameness, Hoof, and Leg Issues in Dairy Cattle

January 12, 2012 at 1:00 PM EST (Noon Central; 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific; 9am Alaska; 7am Hawaii)

Maps, Apps and Mobile Media Marketing

January 12, 2012 at 2:00 PM EST (1pm Central; Noon Mountain, 11am Pacific; 10am Alaska; 8am Hawaii)

The Health Benefits of Blueberries

January 19, 2012 at 11:00 AM EST (10am Central; 9am Mountain, 8am Pacific; 7am Alaska; 5am Hawaii)

Culturally Responsive Youth Work Matters

February 8, 2012 at 12:30 PM EST (Noon Central; 10:30 am Mountain, 9:30 am Pacific; 8:30 am Alaska; 6:30am Hawaii)

Animal Welfare Certification Options

February 8, 2012 at 1:00 PM EST (Noon Central; 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific; 9am Alaska; 7am Hawaii)

Expanding Your Markets: Going Online

February 9, 2012 at 2:00 PM EST (1pm Central; Noon Mountain, 11am Pacific; 10am Alaska; 8am Hawaii)

American Society for Training and Development – Northern Rockies Chapter

January 18, 2012: “Ignite! The 4 Essentials of Rules of Emerging Leaders” with Sal Silvester of 5.12 Solutions with Sal Silvester

Are your emerging leaders prepared for roles that will directly impact business results? Imagine the results if your emerging leaders were able to guide their team based on the key objectives of the organization, ignite higher levels of engagement and productivity from their team members, and perform more effectively, enabling their manager to focus on more strategic opportunities.

During this interactive and engaging session, Sal Silvester will teach participants:
• The 4 essentials to generating team member commitment and igniting the potential of your people
• Mistakes new leaders make (and how to avoid them)
• Secrets to making the transition from peer/individual contributor to leader
• The opposing characteristics leaders every leader must exemplify to be successful

Date: Wednesday, January 18, 2012
Time: 11:30 am – 1:30 pm
Location: Collindale Golf Course CB&Potts, 1441 E. Horsetooth Rd, Fort Collins, CO
Costs: $15 NRC Members and Partners/ $25 Nonmembers

Register at: http://www.astd-nrc.org/events.htm

February 15, 2012 “The Successful Virtual Classroom: Five Tried-and-True Techniques” with Jenny Beer

Move beyond boring “slide shows” and have your virtual classroom come alive. We’ve got five tried-and-true techniques to help you facilitate an effective and engaging learning experience while also meeting the pressure to improve your bottom line. Many organizations are turning to facilitated virtual classrooms as a way to deliver courses cost-effectively to a more geographically dispersed workforce. However, even virtual training can be costly if the facilitator doesn’t transition successfully to a virtual environment and ensure that the learning actually sticks. Based on years of experience, practice, research, and client feedback, we have distilled the art of virtual facilitation into five critical success factors. In this session, we’ll model the five critical success factors, share case studies of successful virtual environments, and show you how to generate excitement in the virtual classroom while ensuring the participants can apply their learning directly to their jobs.

Date: Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Time: 11:30 am – 1:30 pm

Location: Collindale Golf Course CB & Potts, 1441 E. Horsetooth Rd, Fort Collins, CO

Costs: $15 NRC Members and Partners/ $25 Nonmembers

Register at: http://www.astd-nrc.org/events.htm

Leave a Reply